Do You Have to Read the Royal Spyness Series in Order?

do you have to read the Royal Spyness series in order
Image Via Amazon

The Royal Spyness series is a delightful mystery series written by New York Times bestselling author, Rhys Bowen. Set in 1930s London, the series follows Lady Georgiana Rannoch, a young and impoverished member of the royal family, as she solves a series of murders and navigates the complicated world of high society. Bowen’s charming writing style and attention to historical detail make the series a must-read for fans of cozy mysteries and historical fiction.

But do you have to read the Royal Spyness series in order? It’s not mandatory but highly recommended reading the Royal Spyness series in order to fully appreciate the character development and ongoing plotlines.

Do You Have to Read the Royal Spyness Series in Order?

While each book in the Royal Spyness series can stand alone as a mystery novel, you don’t read them in a particular order. But if you want to fully understand the characters, continuity, subplots, and Easter eggs that make the series so enjoyable, then you should read the books in order.

The series follows Lady Georgiana Rannoch, a distant member of the royal family who finds herself in the middle of murder investigations and other mysterious events. As the series progresses, readers are introduced to recurring characters such as Georgiana’s love interest Darcy O’Mara, her best friend Belinda Warburton-Stoke, and her mother, the formidable and overbearing Queenie.

Reading the books in order allows readers to see how these characters develop and change over time, as well as follow along with ongoing plotlines such as Georgiana’s struggles to find her place in society and the tension between her and her mother.

Additionally, reading the books in order allows readers to fully appreciate the historical context and references that Bowen weaves into her writing. The series is set in 1930s London, and each book features details about the time period that build on each other as the series progresses.

Why You Should Read the Royal Spyness Series in Order?

The Royal Spyness series follows the adventures of Lady Georgiana Rannoch who tries to make a living and solve various mysteries. Take a look at a few reasons why it’s important to read the series in order:

Character development

As with most series, the characters in the Royal Spyness series undergo significant development over time. Reading the books in order allows you to see how Lady Georgiana and the other recurring characters change and grow throughout the series.


The mysteries in each book often build upon events that occurred in previous books. Reading the books out of order could lead to confusion about the timeline of events and spoil the outcomes of earlier mysteries.


The series features several ongoing subplots, such as Lady Georgiana’s romantic interests and her struggles to make ends meet. These subplots are best appreciated when read in order.

Easter eggs

The author often includes references to previous books in the series that may not make sense if you haven’t read them yet. By reading the books in order, you can catch these references and appreciate the connections between the books.

How Many Royal Spyness Mysteries are there?

There are 17 books in Rhys Bowen’s “Royal Spyness” mystery series. The series began with “Her Royal Spyness” in 2007 and continued with a new book published almost every year until the latest book, ” Peril in Paris” was released in 2022.

However, it’s worth noting that authors may continue to add books to their series, so there may be more books in the “Royal Spyness” series in the future.

What to Read after Her Royal Spyness?

If you enjoyed reading “Her Royal Spyness” by Rhys Bowen and want to continue reading her books, here is a list of some of her other popular series and standalone novels:

The Molly Murphy Mysteries” – This series follows the adventures of Molly Murphy, an Irish immigrant who solves crimes in turn-of-the-century New York City. The first book in the series is “Murphy’s Law.”

The Constable Evans Mysteries” – This series follows the investigations of Constable Evan Evans in the small Welsh village of Llanfair. The first book in the series is “Evans Above.”

The Tuscan Child” – This standalone novel is a historical mystery set in Tuscany during World War II and follows a woman who discovers her father’s wartime secrets.

In Farleigh Field” – This standalone novel is a World War II-era spy thriller set in an English country estate and follows the investigation of a mysterious parachutist.

The Venetian Princess” – This standalone novel is a historical romance set in Renaissance Venice and follows the story of a noblewoman who falls in love with an artist.

The Twelve Clues of Christmas” – This is the sixth book in the Royal Spyness series and follows Lady Georgiana Rannoch as she investigates a series of mysterious deaths during a Christmas house party.

These books feature Bowen’s signature blend of historical fiction, mystery, and romance and are sure to delight fans of “Her Royal Spyness.”

What Order Should I Read Rhys Bowen’s Books In?

Rhys Bowen is a prolific author who has written multiple series and standalone novels. If you’re interested in reading Rhys Bowen books, here is a suggested reading order for some of her most popular series:

Molly Murphy MysteriesHer Royal Spyness MysteriesConstable Evans MysteriesStand-alone Novels
Murphy’s Law (2001)Her Royal Spyness (2007)Evans Above (1997)In Farleigh Field (2017)
Death of Riley (2002)A Royal Pain (2008)Evan Help Us (1998)The Tuscan Child (2018)
For the Love of Mike (2003)Royal Flush (2009)Evanly Choirs (1999)Above the Bay of Angels (2020)
In Like Flynn (2005)Royal Blood (2010)Evan and Elle (2000)The Venice Sketchbook (2021)
Oh Danny Boy (2006)Naughty in Nice (2011)Evan Can Wait (2001)Where the Sky Begins (2022)
In Dublin’s Fair City (2007)The Twelve Clues of Christmas (2012)Evans to Betsy (2002)
Tell Me, Pretty Maiden (2008)Heirs and Graces (2013)Evan Only Knows (2003)
In a Gilded Cage (2009)Queen of Hearts (2014)Evan’s Gate (2004)
The Last Illusion (2010)Malice at the Palace (2015)Evan Blessed (2005)
Bless the Bride (2011)Crowned and Dangerous (2016)Evanly Bodies (2006)
Hush Now, Don’t You Cry (2012)On Her Majesty’s Frightfully Secret Service (2017)
The Family Way (2013)Four Funerals and Maybe a Wedding (2018)
City of Darkness and Light (2014)Love and Death Among the Cheetahs (2019)
The Edge of Dreams (2015)The Last Mrs. Summers (2020)
Away in a Manger (2015)God Rest Ye, Royal Gentlemen (2021)
Time of Fog and Fire (2016)Peril in Paris (2022)
The Ghost of Christmas Past (2017)
The Gift of the Magpie (2020)

Final Words

That being said, each book in the Royal Spyness series is a self-contained mystery, so it is possible to read them out of order without feeling lost. However, some of the references to previous events and characters may be missed, and the reader may not fully appreciate the growth and changes in the characters over the course of the series.

Though it is not necessary to read the Royal Spyness series in order, doing so will enhance the reader’s enjoyment and understanding of the characters and their relationships. Each book is a self-contained mystery, but reading them in sequence will provide a more complete experience.

Leave a Comment