Sarah J Maas Books Reading Order [A Quick Guide]

For Sarah J. Maas’s books, start with the “Throne of Glass” series, followed by the “A Court of Thorns and Roses” series. Within each series, read in publication order. Begin with “Throne of Glass,” then “A Court of Thorns and Roses.”

Sarah J Maas Books Reading Order
image Via Amazon

Enjoy the journey through these captivating worlds!

Are All Sarah J. Maas Books Connected?

Yes, many of Sarah J. Maas’s books are connected through what’s known as the “Maasverse.” This term refers to the interconnected universe where her various series take place. While each series may focus on different characters, settings, and storylines, they all exist within the same overarching world and share common elements such as magic systems, mythical creatures, and political landscapes.

For example, “Throne of Glass” and “A Court of Thorns and Roses” both take place in this shared universe. While each series has its own main characters and stories, they share common elements, and sometimes characters or places from one series will appear or be mentioned in another.

Even though you can enjoy each series independently, paying attention to these connections can enhance the experience. It’s like discovering hidden Easter eggs that link the stories together, making the world feel richer and more interconnected.

So, while each series stands on its own, they all contribute to the larger tapestry of the Maasverse, offering readers a sprawling and immersive literary experience.

What Order Should I Read Sarah J Maas Books?

Sarah J. Maas is a renowned author known for her captivating fantasy novels, particularly her two major series: “Throne of Glass” and “A Court of Thorns and Roses.” Here’s the recommended order to read her books:

Throne of Glass series:

  • Throne of Glass
  • Crown of Midnight
  • Heir of Fire
  • Queen of Shadows
  • Empire of Storms
  • Tower of Dawn
  • Kingdom of Ash

A Court of Thorns and Roses series:

  • A Court of Thorns and Roses
  • A Court of Mist and Fury
  • A Court of Wings and Ruin
  • A Court of Frost and Starlight (a novella that can be read after “A Court of Wings and Ruin”)
  • A Court of Silver Flames (a sequel to the original trilogy, but it’s not mandatory to read it immediately after)

Companion Novels and Extras:

  • The Assassin’s Blade (a collection of prequel novellas to the Throne of Glass series; ideally read before “Queen of Shadows”)
  • The World of Throne of Glass (a companion guide to the Throne of Glass series, providing additional insight into the world and characters)
  • The Throne of Glass Coloring Book (an artistic rendition of characters and scenes from the series, not necessary for the plot but may be enjoyable for fans)
  • Catwoman: Soulstealer (a DC Icons novel by Sarah J. Maas, a standalone but worth mentioning for fans interested in her other works)

Reading the books in this order ensures a cohesive understanding of the respective series, allowing readers to follow character development, plot intricacies, and thematic elements as intended by the author. Enjoy your journey through Sarah J. Maas’s captivating worlds!

Final Words

Starting with the right book helps you understand how everything connects and lets you experience Maas’s incredible writing skills to the fullest. So, if you want to get the most out of her books, just follow our suggested reading order discussed previously.

Whether starting with the “Throne of Glass” series or delving into the mesmerizing realms of “A Court of Thorns and Roses,” each journey promises a thrilling ride filled with magic, romance, and unforgettable adventures.

So, grab your favourite book and get ready to embark on an unforgettable journey through Sarah J. Maas’s enchanting realms. Happy reading!

1 thought on “Sarah J Maas Books Reading Order [A Quick Guide]”

Leave a Comment